The Princess Bride Attacks!

I’ve been watching a lot of TV lately that I have no business watching. I never realized that there were so many shows that focused on weddings and babies. Since I have no immediate plans for either, I have no idea why I’ve been watching this junk.

WeTV has this show about weddings called Platinum Weddings that showcases obscenely expensive weddings. Why anyone would spend upwards of a million dollars on what is essentially one big party is beyond me. And the people who have these weddings are ridiculously normal.

Sure, if you’re a Hilton or a Trump or a Celine Dion, I could see you having a wedding that costs $2.5 million or so. But the people on these shows are everyday schmoes living in efficiency apartments, driving Civics, and working at Starbucks. I guess it pays to have a wealthy Papa. Though, why anyone would want that wealthy Papa to spend that much money on a wedding instead of, say, a house or college or something is also beyond me. Maybe they do both.

Then there’s this other wedding show called Bridezillas about brides who are completely out of control. Never in the history of mankind have so many selfish, loud, dimwitted women worn so many Bedazzled velour hoodie lounge sets declaring themselves Princesses. It’s enough to put a woman off of rhinestones for life.

You’ll find fewer self-proclaimed Princesses at the Disney store than you’ll find foaming around the mounth in front of the Bridezillas cameras. Why are these women on this show? They know what it is about. Why showcase their poor behavior to the world? I don’t understand.

And what is this whole Princess thing about? Do these women think calling themselves Princesses excuses their poor behavior? Who perpetuates this princess nonsense? It’s cute when the “Princess” is five years old, but a thirty year old woman wearing a tiara (everyday, not just for the wedding) with a rhinestoned tee that proclaims her a Princess, is just beyond sad.

