Three Birds

The Birds of a Feather wall hanging is so close to being complete. I have no idea how I’m going to hang it, yet, but I consider that one of those small details I don’t need to think about right now. I’m concentrating on getting the thing quilted. Here’s where I was a few days ago, when I finished applique-ing the top.

The Completed Top

The Completed Top, in Perspective

That picture was taken when I had the top layed (laid? Oy. My brain is guacamole right now.) out on top of batting and backing, just before I basted the layers together. When I get the thing on the wall, I’ll get a better picture… one that’s not in a wacky perspective.
I’ve finished quilting the outline around most of the appliqued elements. I’ve finished the background quilting for the pears and stars. Here’s a pic of the completed pears.
The Pears

The Pears

 

Those orange strings are the basting threads that’ll be removed once the wall hanging is complete.  I’m not going to get the thing finished by my parents’ 40th anniversary in a few day. Argh. But it shouldn’t take more than a week to finish it, so they won’t have to wait long.

OK. I’ve rested my fingers a little. Back to the hoop.

