Paper Lilies

Upon the fine art of procrastination.

Instead of finishing my Home Sweet Home quilt like I ought to, I’ve been messing around with crepe paper and glue. And the Home Sweet Home quilt’s top is only 3 red scallops away from being complete. Here’s what it looks like right now, hanging over my big floor hoop:

Three More Scallops!

Three More Scallops!

 

So instead of finishing my quilt top, and instead of working on the wall hanging I’ve got planned for my parents’ 40th anniversary coming up (in early April, for crying out loud!), I’ve been putzing around with making crepe paper lilies for the entrance hall table. I made three of them:

The Entrance Hall Table

The Entrance Hall Table

It took about 45 minutes to make each flower. It takes about an hour to applique each scallop on the quilt. So in the time I was messing around with the paper, I could have finished my quilt top.

Oy.

But they are pretty.

Pretty White Paper Lilies

Pretty White Paper Lilies

I gave each of them a different colored interior: red, lilac, and yellow. To give you a sense of scale, those yellow candles are 4 inches wide and 6 inches tall. They’re full size, big lilies. Here’s a close-up of the red one:

Click on the thumbnail for the full size picture.

Click on the thumbnail for the full size picture.

OK. Back to the HSH quilt. Then, on to starting my parents’ 40th anniversary wall hanging. Oy.

P.S.: Oh, and I made those four tags hanging around the candle pillars yesterday, too. D’oh!

2 comments on “Paper Lilies

  1. pam says:

    Wow; the quilt is gorgeous and the lilies so pretty! I didn’t know you were so talented!! :D

  2. Prudie says:

    Thanks! But it’s not talent. It’s boredom.

Comments are closed.