New Day

Today is a historic day for America. Today, we’ll anoint the Kwisatz Haderachto the highest office in the US. (You know I’m going to call Obama Muad’Dib or the Kwisatz Haderach from now on, right? Good. )

I don’t want him to fail. I expect that he will if he intends to follow his campaign promises, but it’s not something I want. I also expect him to fail if he doesn’t follow his campaign promises; any deviation from his campaign statements will make enemies out of his fellow liberals. His policies will get nowhere fast with such enemies.

Added to that is the high expectations of his devoted followers. I don’t know that there is a way to make all of his promises to them good. It could get ugly fast when they figure that out. His team hasn’t done a very good job of managing the unrealistic expectations of his followers. Having promised the moon during the campaign to win the election, he finds himself in the position to follow through on obtaining it. I wish him luck with that.

And already, Obama’s had a pissing contest with Reid over who is the real boss of the Democrats in Washington. Obama won the media war with Reid, but Reid’s been in this a long time; I don’t see him giving up easily.

I don’t think there’s a way he can succeed. And that’s a shame.

(And I write all that with no relish or sarcasm. Well, I’m having fun with the Kwisatz Haderach stuff. But no… I don’t want him to fail. We’ve seen enough of a mess this past year. I don’t look forward to more of it.)

LATER: Something’s been bothering me about this press coverage of the inauguration (which has been going on for a few days!!!!). They keep calling Obama President Obama. He won’t be president until a little later today. Also, these are the same people who don’t call W President Bush. Things like that bug me.

2 comments on “New Day

  1. pam says:

    Well, I respect the office of POTUS… but I don’t want Obama’s policies to succeed. I’m conservative… why would I want ideals diametrically opposed to mine to do well?

  2. Prudie says:

    For the good of the country, I want Obama to succeed. I don’t think it’s possible for his policies to succeed, otherwise I’d be in favor of them. But I wish he’d do something right.

    I don’t think the policies he’ll have in office are the policies on which he campaigned. So there’s always that.

    “why would I want ideals diametrically opposed to mine to do well?”

    Would you have said that if McCain were elected? Many of his policies were anything but conservative. Does it really matter that much for the president to have a D or an R behind his name?

Comments are closed.