Merry Christmas!

I’m not Christian. I’m Pagan. I say Merry Christmas.

Oh, I say Happy Yule when I initiate a Winter holiday greeting. But when someone says Merry Christmas to me, I say it right back. Same thing with Hanukkah. If someone were to greet me with a Happy Ramadan or Happy Kwanzaa, I’d say it right back at them. It’s not religion specific at all.

They’re not trying to push their religion on me. And I’m not acknowledging a particular belief on my part by replying. They’re simply wishing me a happy time during their holy holiday. So I have no problem wishing them the same right back at them.

So people, lighten up. Wishing someone a Merry Christmas doesn’t mean that you’re perpetuating a beastly hegemony that will suck all non-Christian civilization down to a base, discriminating level. Oh no. It just means that you’re returning some happy Wintertime wishes. So get that stick out of your ass and wish someone a Merry Christmas  already.

Happy Yule!

7 comments on “Merry Christmas!

  1. Abbadon says:

    So, um, yule be home for Christmas?

    I kill me…

    Happy Yule, Prudie!

  2. pam says:

    Abbadon kills me, too. ;)

    Merry Christmas, a lovely Winter Solstice and whatever else you got going. :D

  3. Prudie says:

    Abbadon, yule kill all of us if you keep up such bad jokes. Ba dink!

    Merry Christmas everyone!

  4. Kurt P says:

    Yeah, it’s not so much the “greeting” that’s the thing. It’s the forgiveness, acceptence and laidbackishness(?) that’s the idea.

    Ooops,,,,,ummmm,,, we have some kind of moslem holiday, too- don’t we…..

    HmmmmmOK, all religions can take control of the good stuff and we’ll leave the explosive celibrations to the RoP,,ok?

  5. Wickedpinto says:

    I forget who it was at Aces place who said it. “i’m an atheist, but a philosophical catholic.”

    Fits me quite well.

    When asked, I say I’m an atheist, but I have nothing respect for the faithful, or for those days that the faithful find holy.

  6. Prudie says:

    Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.