SHTF Links

If there’s one thing we all know, it’s that we can’t expect the government to take care of us in the event of a huge emergency. Even if we have a minor emergency or a recession/depression, a well stocked long-term pantry is the way to go. Because I grew up Mormon, I’ve got the long term food storage stuff down pat. (I don’t have everything I need for three months but I know what I need to get. It’s just about money at this point and buying when I’m able to get more.)

So lately, my focus has been on emergency gear, a.k.a SHTF (Shit Hits The Fan) stuff. Food storage is a large part of that, but not all. So while I was looking for what exactly I’d need aside from food, I found a few resources for information. They’re listed below in case you’ve been looking for the same.

These links mainly focus on natural disaster emergencies, but really, having emergency supplies can help you during an economic crisis, too.

I’ve got more emergency preparedness posts in the works. One is on food storage and another will be a compilation of al the information I’ve found here. But I thought that you guys would like the raw info/sources of where I got my disaster preparedness plan.

[P.S. Feel free to add links to other SHTF resources in the comments, but be warned: if you have more than two links in your comment, my spam filter will mark that comment as spam. So if you have +2 links, comment multiple times with only two links per comment.]

 

GENERAL

Here’s the Message from Warlord at Alpha Rubicon.

Listening to Katrina has a workbook you can download with lists of things you ought to have ready.

FEMA has a fairly good site on disaster planning with separate sections for different disasters. They emphasize the three day kit, which is fine if the disaster can be cleaned up in three days. When it snows here in Georgia we can be days without power. After a tornado? Please. We’re looking at a week or so with no power. So I don’t think that the three day food storage is enough. Sure, it’s a good start, but not enough to keep you in the event of a huge emergency.

Enter stage right, the LDS church (aka, the Mormons); they know all about food storage and long term self reliance. The LDS church created Provident Living, a website devoted to self reliance resources. If you go to Emergency Preparedness and Response, there’s a lot of good information there, but you have to look for it. The site isn’t well organized. Still, there’s a food storage calculator there that will tell you how many pounds of grain you should have for a certain number of people for a certain length of time. Useful information, that.

The American Red Cross compiled a disaster supplies kit list. They also sell supplies, but they’re expensive.

The Zombie Squad forum is an excellent place for survival information. Hey, if you can survive a ravaging horde of zombies, what can’t you survive?

At Captain Dave’s Survival Center, David Lee compiled the Big List of survival information.

The US government created Ready.gov for information about emergency stuff.

 

FOOD

I’m writing a whole post about this topic alone, but here’s a few links to get you started.

FEMA has a useful page about water storage.

About.com has a neat little food calculator based on the LDS Church’s Essentials of Home Production and Storage booklet that calculates how much food your family will need for a year.

Provident Living has a list of the shelf life for certain food storage items.

Provident Living also has a list of food storage packaging recommendations.

Vicki Tate wrote about the 7 mistakes of food storage.

The Survival Center has a food storage FAQ.

Shelf Reliance is a great place to buy food storage supplies. You can even buy a shelf that has automatic food rotation. Sigh. I am suffering from a severe case of shelf envy. You can even buy enough fruits and veggies for two people for nine months there. Oh my. They even sell emergency supplies. Nice.

NASD has a great list of the shelf life of “every day” foods.

Portland Preserve has a lot of good info about food preservation. If you garden, this is a great (but small) source for canning recipes. (Gardening should be a large part of food storage/self reliance. I hoard seeds like crazy.)

Oh, and BTW… Jolly Ranchers melt easily. I found that out last night while inventorying my Big Blue Tub. Thankfully, they were in a ziploc bag and didn’t get all over the place.

Something else to watch out for: those easy-open pull tops for canned foods? They open a little too  easily. Don’t use them for long-term storage and especially don’t put them in a bug out bag or box.

 

BUG OUT BAG

Sometimes you have to get your ass out of Dodge. That’s what the bug out bag is for. For most people, it’s a backpack full of supplies you’d carry to hike out of an emergency situation. For me, it’s the Big Blue Tub I can shove in my Sportage. Sure, if I have to hike out on foot, I’ve got a backpack in my BBT with essentials. But if I have to evacuate, and if I can do it in a car, I’d rather have my BBT on hand since it can supply a lot more stuff than my single backpack.

Kim du Toit listed the items in his SHTF Grab ‘N Go Stuff. There are pictures, too, and a checklist I printed out and adapted for my family’s needs. It’s a great list.

Amazon has a list of items for the Ultimate Bug Out Bag.

Here’s the contents of SayUncle’s bug out bag. His commenters provided some handy links, too.

SurvivalTopics has a list of items for bug out bags. Included in their list are links to handy information like how to pick a survival knife.

Survivor Magazine has a list of what the Ultimate BOB should contain.

At Alpha Rubicon, Bulldog6 wrote about assembling an ultralight bug out bag.

Also at Alpha Rubicon, Duncan Long wrote about Backpack Survival and why a backpack alone isn’t enough to truly survive for any significant length of time. Getting out of Dodge with a backpack only works if you have immediate plans for heading back to Dodge (or another safe secure location) after the crisis is over. That’s one reason why I have the Big Blue Tub; it’s enough to get me out of the immediate crisis to a safe location where I can sit and wait until it’s safe to get back home (or until it’s safe enough to get me to a safe, secure, preplanned location).

 

STAY AT HOME EMERGENCIES

Not every emergency will have you rushing to get your bug out bag in the car. Some will require that you stay at home and deal with the mess there. These are links to help you out on the home front.

From Instapundit Glenn Reynolds, a reminder: Wet/Dry vacuums are essential if you are likely to have any sort of rain or flood emergency, which includes just about everyone. The map to all the emergency equipment is also a good idea. Even if you live in the house, you may not know exactly where everything is if you live there with other people and each person is in charge of a different storage area. Also, you might just forget where you put something.

Here’s an Amazon list of items to help you prepare for a hurricane without leaving your desk. But really, that stuff is good for just about any emergency.

Edmunds.com created a roadside emergency kit list of items to keep in the car. 

 

BOOKS

There are a ton of books on survival and emergency preparation out there. Does anyone have a good one they can recommend?

Here’s a list of 7 reviewed books at Amazon.

