102 Minutes, More

So, I’ve just finished writing my previous post on the History Channel documentary, 102 Minutes That Changed America. (You might want to read that one first, to get an idea of what brought about this post.)

Watching the documentary brings back all the fear and anxiety I felt back in 2001. It brings back all the resolve I felt back in 2002. And I can’t help but wonder, after that, who can question Afghanistan or Iraq? Who can question the worth of establishing firm democratic republic ideals in Afghanistan or Iraq? Is there anyone who can still question why we are there? 

I’ve railed against people who say that the events of 9/11 are our fault. We were clearly the victims on that day. But just because we were the victim doesn’t mean that we couldn’t have avoided it. Had we taken our heads out of our collective dot com asses and looked at what was happening in the Middle East with Muslim extremism/fascism, could 9/11 have been avoided? I don’t know. (Though at this point, I suppose the argument is, at best, academic. At worst, it is partisan hackery. Oy. So let’s skip that minefield altogether and move on to the present and the future.)

What I do know is that we can’t afford to take our attention away now. It’s clear, it’s been made very clear, what will happen if we let our guard down, if we don’t take control of the people who would harm us, if we don’t establish some sort of pro-American democratic republic somewhere in the Middle East.

Have we made mistakes? I’m sure we have. Somewhere. But I don’t think that the decision to go into Afghanistan or Iraq was one of them. Debate on that issue is mostly pointless rhetoric anyway (which is why I avoided it above), used by political hacks to avoid the real issue: we’re there now, so where do we go from here?

What we need now is decisive leadership that will give us security from the same extremism that harmed us on 9/11/2001. What we need now is leadership with a vision to establish that democratic republic or two in the Middle East. What we need now is leadership that will take us forward, not look back and whine about unchangeable past events.

What we need now is leadership with imagination, with honor, with plans, and with balls. Which is why I’m voting for Palin this November. So I guess that means I’ll vote for McCain, too, by default.

[And gawd, did I ever not mean to take this post into a McCain/Palin pitch. But I did. Dammit. I hate it when people turn 9/11 into a political tennis ball, praising one candidate or another, supporting one side or another. But there you have it. My praise of a 9/11 documentary turned into a political pitch. Oy. My inner muse, she is a capricious bitch who likes to take sharp turns without warning me.]

One comment on “102 Minutes, More

  1. I will make it a point to watch for the documentary, Prudie, for that same reassertion that the direction Bush took was the proper one.
    The same distractions which allowed al-qaeda to grow in the 90s are still present, still trying to distract us now.
    This will be a long, a lifelong war against terrorism and Islamic fundamentalism.

Comments are closed.