They Say

From Instapundit: They say that McCain has picked Sarah Palin. So, assuming it’s true, I don’t know what to think about this. Several thoughts come to mind.

1. Who?

2. Don’t the people in Alaska hate her?

3. McCain saw Obama’s crappy Veep pick and picked one crappier. He’s so competitive.

4. McCain might pick up some of Hillary’s bitter followers if you believe that female Democrats will vote for McCainjust because his Veep’s a female. And you might be right about that.

5. McCain might pick up some of Hillary’s bitter followers if Palin’s as much of a social liberal as she’s reported to be. If so, yay!

 I’ll see what I can find out about her…


LATER: According to Yahoo, she has a rep for “bucking Alaska’s powerful oil industry.” She “took on the oil industry, leading to a tax increase on oil company profits that now has the state’s treasury swelling.” Shit. Taxing the oil industry is not what we need.

ALSO: Yahoo is complaining about McCain’s timing: “It was either tactically clever, or foolish, but there’s no denying that it ate up some of the airtime rightfully due to Obama.” (Emphasis mine.) Rightfully due? Gawd, the media’s made up of whiny, snot nosed bitches.

OY: Palin has a reputation much like McCain in that she’s not afraid to take on members of her own party. Shit. I mean, I’m all for outing the bad guys. But that kind of a reputation has hurt McCain with Republicans in the past. McCain needs to find someone who appeals to Republicans. Because he doesn’t appeal to Republicans. McCain’s the guy they got stuck with when Fred napped and Huckabee sabotaged Romney. McCain doesn’t need a Veep who is a female, younger Maverick McCain.

Well, at least she doesn’t have cankles.


IT’S OFFICIAL: I just watched Sarah Palin speak. I like her. She’s a helluva better speaker than both McCain and Obama, which surprised me a bit. She’s also very appealing in both appearance and in personality. So that can’t hurt. All in all, McCain could’ve picked worse.

And it might make voting for McCain a little less painful this November. We’ll see.

CORRECTION VIA THE COMMENTS: As Jonolan comments below, she’s very popular in Alaska. I just heard on the radio that she has the highest approval rating of all the US governors. Nice. [Jonolan also has an informative post about Palin that makes me feel much better about her as Veep.]

4 comments on “They Say

  1. jonolan says:

    A poll published by Hays Research on July 28, 2008 showed Gov. Palin’s approval rating at 80% in Alaska.

  2. Prudie says:

    Well, that’s promising.

  3. pam says:

    I like her! But you know, if she were a man I’d like her just as well. ;)

  4. Abbadon says:

    I like her! But you know, if she were a man I’d like her just as well. ;)

    Not me. Manboobs creep me out…

Comments are closed.