Game Day Fudge

In preparation for the games, I made chocolate peanut butter fudge. Yum. It’s very richly chocolate with a small taste of peanut. So if you’re not a big peanut butter fan, this isn’t going to overload you with a large overwhelming peanut butter taste. It’s very subtle.

Ingredients:
1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup marshmallow creme
1/2 cup evaporated milk
1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use more than this, about 2 tablespoons – but I LOVE vanilla)

Directions:
1. Butter an 8 inch square pan. (I like a Pyrex glass pan for this. It comes with a plastic top, so I don’t have to change containers later when I want to store it.)
2. Combine sugar, marshmallow creme, milk, peanut butter, and salt into a large (at least a 4 quart) saucepan on low heat.
3. Stir saucepan contents constantly until blended and mixture comes to a boil. (If you don’t stir, it’s going to form a burnt sticky mess on the bottom.)
4. Boil 5 minutes, stirring constantly. (I like to use a large whisk for this. Spoons just aren’t efficient enough because the sugar caramelizes and forms little brown clumps. The whisk incorporates and gets rid of the brown clumps easier than a spoon.)
5. Remove from heat.
6. Add chocolate and stir until well blended. (Don’t use the whisk for this. The chocolate cools fast and it will get stuck in the whisk.)
7. Stir in the vanilla.
8. Pour the hot fudge into the buttered pan. (I like to use a trivet under the pan because the pan gets really hot. If your countertops are heat sensitive, you’d best do the same.)
9. Let fudge cool. (It will be an inch thick, will weight about 1.5 pounds, and will take about 1 hour to cool enough to eat without playing hot potato.)

Storage: The original instructions would have you cut all the fudge into small pieces then store it in a covered container. I find that when you do that, the fudge dries out fast, even with the cover. So I cut about a third of it up into small pieces (it’s too rich for large pieces!), then I store the cut pieces and the remaining uncut fudge together in the 8 inch square Pyrex pan with the plastic lid.

One comment on “Game Day Fudge

  1. Abbadon says:

    Where’s mine???

    Can I lick your lips, babe??

    :oD>

Comments are closed.