Just Wretched

Aha! My goal of becoming the last person in my generation to get a tattoo is 40% complete! (At this rate, when I’m 53, my plan will be complete!!!) What joy!

Not that I have anything against tattoos. I don’t. They can be, ahem, extremely sexy. They can also be ugly. And I don’t think that getting a tattoo dooms the tattooee to a life of failure and regret. I just think that, having seen all the poor workmanship and/or design that goes into most tattoos out there, regret is very likely.

And that’s what keeps me from getting a tattoo.

It’s just… I can’t make up my mind. See, if I knew that I’d want something, say, an eagle on my belly for the rest of my life, then I’d go out an get an eagle on my belly. I just don’t think that I’d always want an eagle on my belly. I mean, forty years from now, will I still look at the eagle on my belly and love it? I doubt it. And by then, would that eagle look like a puking vulture? More than likely.

In high school, I wanted a tribal arm band. I wanted a big-ass, black tribal arm band. Now today, I think tribal tattoos on people who aren’t, you know, actual members of real tribes are just a little silly. It’s true that a significant portion of my ancestry is Cherokee. But I don’t belong to the Alabama tribe. I could, since my genealogy supports membership, but I just don’t think of myself as Cherokee. And joining the tribe at the age of 32 seems a bit… well, uncomfortable.

Anyway, I just don’t think that a tattoo I get today would be wanted a year or two from now. If I thought I could settle on one and always want it, I’d get one. I just don’t think that’s likely.

At least, I have my plot goal. And it’s working! Bwa ha haaaa! 53 here I come!!!!!1!!!!11!!!

[Inspiration via Atomic Nerds.]

4 comments on “Just Wretched

  1. pam says:

    When I turned 50 I determined to get a tattoo. Well, on Monday I’ll be 51. What happened? Time flies, as they say….

  2. pajama momma says:

    I have a tat on my lower back. I was thrilled when I got it because I’d never get sick of something I can’t see, right?

    Well who the hell would have thought they’d eventually be called tramp stamps???? muther effer

    hubby does not have one, even though he owned a snowboarding company when I met him. He was the actual rebel in his group because he was the only naked one

  3. Abbadon says:

    Naked snowboaarding must hurt like a mother…

    I’m going to get all my blogbabes’ names tattooed somewhere where I’ll have lots of room…

  4. Prudie says:

    I’ve heard that getting your nose tattooed can hurt really bad. So you might not want to go for the “lots of room” idea.

Comments are closed.