Tomato Woe

So. I’ve got about 19 tomato plants in the backyard. On Monday night, they were eye high with hundreds of baby tomatoes on them. On Tuesday night, most were waist high with only the largest of the tomatoes present. A few of them were knee high. One is almost completely gone.

I’ve been in a pissy mood ever since. Because the plants were gone from the top down, I thought deer had been snacking on my plants. (Last year, it was bunnies eating the baby tomatoes at the base of each plant. But this couldn’t have been bunnies, unless they were acrobatic bunnies who stood on each others’ shoulders just to eat the top of the tomato plants.) So I sprinkled chipotle pepper flakes on the plants to keep the deer away until I could find a permanent solution. Turns out that wasn’t necessary.

Later, as I searched for green tomatoes to pick for fried green tomatoes, I found this ugly bastard:

The Little Bastard Responsible

It’s a Tomato Hornworm, the little bastard; it’s about two inches long and capable of eating a whole patch of tomato plants in 24 hours. While I took this picture, it ate an entire leaf off of my tomato plant.

I killed this one and sprayed to kill any others lingering around my tomatoes. Bastard.

So my tomato crop is going to suffer this year. No canning for me. I’ll be lucky if the plants don’t die from losing about half of their height in less than 24 hours.

Dammit. I am so pissed.

5 comments on “Tomato Woe

  1. Abbadon says:

    Nuke the bastards! To hell with the Enviroturds!

    Where the hell does one worm put a whole plant, FFS?

    Do they eat and shit at the same time??/

  2. Prudie says:

    pretty much. i had to wash off the entire f’n garden because of all the little worm pellets.

  3. Prudie says:

    where the fuck are my capital letters? shit. my left shift key doesn’t work. and of couse i can’t type using the right one. dammit.

    This is just unnatural, using the right shift key. gasdbhsdfjhbsdjkfhbe abnfbsdf 111111111111111

  4. Abbadon says:

    Hey, you’re starting to sound like me!

    :oD>

  5. Janet says:

    This is why I don’t grow tomatoes anymore. I can’t take the heartbreak.

Comments are closed.