One Trick Ponies

I’ve been thinking about sanity lately. Specifically, what is it? Something that is completely rational to one man can be horrifyingly irrational to another. So which standard do we use to define sanity? Which man gets to point his finger at the other and holler “up yours, nutty wanker“?

I just don’t know.

But even without a definition or a clear delineation of sanity, I’ve decided that I’m half crazy. This is, in my mind, a good compromise. I mean, the sane half of my mind knows right from wrong and good from evil and helpful from harmful. Also, I’m good at math.

But that other half, the insane half, talks to tomato plants, names inanimate objects, insists on screaming into the void unanswered, and blogs. Also, I’m good at math.

I haven’t come to any real conclusion about sanity. And I really can’t tell which man is crazy and which man is entitled to holler at the other for it. I do know that the people society calls crazy seem to be more fun than the people society calls sane.

Isn’t sanity just a one trick pony anyway? All you get is that one trick: rational thinking. But when you’re good and crazy, well, the sky’s the limit!
— The Tick

Perhaps sanity isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be.

LATER: I was thinking about this post. And I think this perhaps is a very Southern attitude. We aren’t ashamed of our crazy relatives own here. We don’t lock our crazies in the attic or in institutions down here. No sir. We dust off our crazies, prop them up, and let them entertain our guests in the parlour while we’re making cucumber sandwiches and mint juleps in the kitchen.

Do people in other regions direct such a fond eye toward their crazy relations?

5 comments on “One Trick Ponies

  1. Abbadon says:

    Do people in other regions direct such a fond eye toward their crazy relations?

    Here in California we bus them to Berkeley where they provide hours of entertainment for the rest of the country…

  2. Prudie says:

    Entertainment? Is that what you call it? I suppose if you find stirring the pot entertaining…. oh wait… ;)

  3. pam says:

    That’s very true about the South. Down here people don’t ask if you’ve got crazy in your family, but which side it’s on…

    I’m adopted, but I’m willing to bet it’s on BOTH. ;)

  4. TomZ says:

    “And you know that she’s half-crazy but that’s why you want to be there”
    (with apologies to Mr. Cohen)

    Half-crazy is certainly more interesting than ‘not crazy.’ In rural Louisiana, I recall eccentrics who were compulsively acquired old Comets or conversed with lost spouses and pets. As a fellow Southerner, though, I am not able to answer your question.

    Is there an element of coping? or coping without adapting to the norm? Half-crazy is still functional. Perhaps dangerous…

    Your Tick quote brought to mind Alan Moore’s Comedian in “Watchmen.” Eddie might not have crossed the line into madness but had definitely stood on the edge. Walter Kovacs started on that edge and willfully stepped over.

  5. Prudie says:

    pam, crazy can be inherited from your adopted family… It’s a weird but well known fact of genetics. Adopted kids inherit the crazy gene by osmosis. Trust me. I’ve got an aunt (adopted) who is just as nuts as the rest of us. :)

Comments are closed.