Burn, Baby Burn!

Sunburn inferno! Ouch!

Yesterday, I finally got around to planting my baby tomato plants. They are gorgeous, all 17 of them. The weather was perfect – just cool enough to be comfortable and just hot enough to help the tomatoes. So yesterday, I wore a sleeveless shirt. It was just hot enough to need it.

I checked often to make sure my white, white shoulders were doing OK. And I liberally applied sunscreen and often stopped to lounge in the shade. None of that mattered. About 2 hours after I came inside my shoulders were deep, deep red. Lobster red. Fire engine red.

Painful red. I hate being sunburned; it’s just a miserable feeling. You’re both hot and cold. There’s no way to get comfortable. And forget sleeping! Oy.

I’ve been applying Aloe gel I keep in the fridge for kitchen burns. And I’ve been slathering on Neutrogena’s After-Sun treatment. 

I’ve been looking up treatments for sunburn on the internet and I found a nasty surprise: sunscreen increases your chance of getting malignant melanoma, the most dangerous type of skin cancer. WTF? Oh sure, sunscreen helps with the two carcinoma types of skin cancer, but it increases your chance of getting the nastiest type. Lovely. Apparently, the only way to prevent skin cancer caused by the sun is to wear a burqa with UPF 50.

11 comments on “Burn, Baby Burn!

  1. Abbadon says:

    Or there’s this, and it’s oh-so-sexay…

    Hope you have some solarcaine handy. Remember how soothing that stuff was???

  2. Prudie says:

    Solarcaine… Thanks! I knew there was something I was forgetting.

    Burkini? Ha. For the most daring of women – one who isn’t afraid to show a little nose when she wants to be both sexy and revealing.

  3. Abbadon says:

    one who isn’t afraid to show a little nose

    I love it when you talk dirty…

    :oD>

  4. Prudie says:

    Everything to you is dirty. So it’s not hard. :P

  5. Ajax says:

    …and red wine helps prevent heart disease, but don’t drink because it kills your liver and raises your risk of cancer, and nicotine has been shown to prevent the onset of Alzheimers and Parkinsons, but don’t smoke tobacco because best case you’ll get lung/throat/mouth cancer…shall I go on? Everything is bad for you/good for you/bad for you/good for you.
    Whatever! Put Solarcaine on your sunburn, and get back to those maters young’n. And if you get skin cancer, cut it off with some toenail clippers and eat it with some grits and eggs.
    To Hell with cancer, and the fear thereof!

  6. Prudie says:

    I think the trick is… everthing in moderation.

    Which sucks because some things are better in excess.

    And if you get skin cancer, cut it off with some toenail clippers and eat it with some grits and eggs.

    Well. Ew. Now I’m in pain, I’m hot, I’m cold, and I’m nauseous. :P

    Oh, believe me… the maters don’t suffer, even if I do! :)

  7. Abbadon says:

    Which sucks because some things are better in excess.

    Amen to that…

  8. pam says:

    I’ve been out working in the yard two days straight, but thankfully no burn!

    And if you get skin cancer, cut it off with some toenail clippers and eat it with some grits and eggs.

    ROFL!

  9. Abbadon says:

    ‘allo yaself, PJM…

  10. pajama momma says:

    No! you allo yourself. and hi even!

Comments are closed.