AT&T Sucks

For years, I’ve had T-Mobile cell phone service. I have one of those family plans with my mother in which I’m the primary. We both save money and minutes that way. We rarely go over our minutes – we’ve never used more than 50% of our minutes – and so, for some time now, I’ve been looking at other plans with fewer minutes for less money.

My mother has a lot of AT&T services. During a service call to AT&T, a salesman sold my mother on their cell phone service which would be much cheaper when bundled with all her other services she already has with AT&T. We’d keep the phones we have now until our new phones arrived. At that time we’d transfer our numbers to the new phone. The salesman assured her that we’d maintain service.

Neither of us can go without a cell phone. My car, a 2005 Kia Sportage, is super reliable. My mother’s car is a 1991 Ford Crown Victoria, a former police interceptor. It’s not reliable at all. Currently, I’m driving my mother’s POS Ford and she’s driving my Kia, for reasons too many to get into here.

Reliable cell phone service is a priority. I drive on back roads and through bad neighborhoods weekly. Should the POS stop, which is likely – it’s happened before several times, and leave me stranded somewhere where there is no reputable business nearby, I need a cell phone to call for a ride. My mother, though she drives my reliable little Kia, drives through bad neighborhoods daily to get to work. She’s also diabetic, so having a cell phone could be a matter of life or death for her.

So. We need reliable cell phones for every day use. Back to the story, we switched service to AT&T with their assurance that we’d suffer no disrupted service and our brand new phones would arrive in 7-10 days. That was Thursday night.

Friday morning, my mother’s cell didn’t work. After suffering through a 1.5 hour long call to T-Mobile, I found out that AT&T had already transferred my mother’s cell phone number away from T-Mobile. And we didn’t even have our AT&T phones yet.

After an agonizing 2 hour phone call to AT&T, I found out several things:

1) AT&T made a mistake by transferring our service to them on one of our cell numbers before we received our AT&T phones;

2) AT&T can’t track packages through their own system;

3) AT&T can’t track orders through their own system;

4) AT&T can’t express ship anything because it’s against guidelines;

5) One division of AT&T doesn’t have any clue what the other divisions of AT&T do;

6) The different divisions within AT&T do not normally speak to each other – asking them to do so will cause general mayhem after which the customer service rep will speak incoherently about things like “porting” and “key-in errors;”

7) Once your cell number is transferred it can’t be transferred again until a certain length of time has passed – supposedly, this is a federal law;

8) AT&T, the company, has very little to do with AT&T, the mall kiosk – so picking up an order at a kiosk after placing it on the phone or online is impossible;

9) AT&T will do absolutely nothing once they’ve made a mistake to correct that mistake – customer service reps will apologize profusely and offer to remove the service/installation charges from your bill – charges that you were originally told (when you placed the order) would not be charged to begin with because you’re an existing customer; and

10) AT&T sucks.

I suspect that I was lied to about their inability to expedite or track the order. What company doesn’t have that ability? Seriously, I wasn’t ordering service from Ma and Pa’s Cell Fones R Us; I was ordering from freaking AT&T, for crying out loud. AT&T used to be part of BellSouth. They’ve been around forever. They seriously expect me to believe that their computers can’t track if or when an order has been shipped? They can’t tell me when it’s expected to arrive? I call BS on that. I call a whole truckload of hot, steamy, stinky BS on that.

I was told to expect the new AT&T phones Monday or Tuesday. It’s Wednesday and they’re not here. I’ve been practicing relaxation methods all day, knowing that they would arrive any minute.

Well, I’d almost come to terms with knowing that I was trusting my safety and my mother’s life to the seriously flawed AT&T. After all, I expected the phones to arrive any minute. And thus all would be forgiven.

But f’n AT&T wasn’t finished with me yet. Oh, no – not by a long shot. Today, I received a phone call. It was one of those automated, faux happy, chirpy messages that make me want to gouge my eardrums with an X-acto knife.

And the message? AT&T was so very happy to inform me that my order was placed today. And. My order will be shipped… tomorrow. And the order will arrive in 7 – 10 days from… tomorrow.

Kasfkjnif uvnsldbh vasdl sdvb!!!!1!eleventy!!!!!!1!!!!

A few hours later…

I’m calm. Really. Sigh. Kim du Toit talks about a Red Curtain of Blood when he becomes sufficiently angry. RCOB, indeed.

So. I’m thinking that when I get those phones, I’m going to send them right back. And I’ll find another service who knows the difference between a port and their ass.

I’ll go now. I’ve got to go meditate on my Miracle Balls.

 

 
 
 

 

10 comments on “AT&T Sucks

  1. jeremy says:

    sorry that happened. you can visit a store (company owned) and have a phone within the hour. just explain your situation and i’m sure someone will work with you, or you could buy a phone and return it (within 30 days) when you get the other one and they loose out.

  2. Prudie says:

    I asked about going to a store. That idea was nixed fairly fast. Even though the store is company owned, I was told that they are different divisions, and thus cannot trade one purchase for another.

    I should go buy a phone then return the one that arrives later. Good idea! Thanks!

  3. misterbaatard says:

    I was an AT&T customer for about two weeks. Just a standard phone line. I was blown away by the incompetence of this organization. I’m so glad I didn’t have a cell phone through them!

    Now I don’t even have a land line. I really don’t need one. I use a pay-as-you-go wireless company and I have no complaints!

  4. McGehee says:

    When my wife and I got our first cell phones, we used an online deal that involved shipping us our phones, but when that company was bought out and the network shut down, the new company didn’t want to cut us a deal to terminate our existing contract (never mind they’d effectively terminated that contract by shutting down the network) so we were *thisclose* to going with another company.

    Fortunately we found another store, a franchise operation they told us, that was able to help us out. The idea of having new phones shipped to us, to use on the new company’s network, never occurred to us even though our existing phones were useless anyway.

    Now for the fun part. The company we went with originally, four years ago, was AT&T — but no longer a subsidiary of the “real” AT&T; it had been spun off before we signed up. They were bought out and shut down by Cingular, which has since been bought out by the “real” AT&T. So we’re “back” with AT&T.

    Things have worked out okay for us so far (knock on particle board).

  5. McGehee says:

    Anyway, right now we’re without benefit of a contract, so we can bail on AT&T any time. If we decide to upgrade our phones we may end up going on contract again though.

    So, we’re not even thinking about it right now.

  6. Prudie says:

    That whole AT&T/Cingular/BellSouth thing is confusing. They’ve joined, bought, split, and who knows what else so many times it’s hard to keep up with whatever status is current.

    Yeah, we have a contract now, because we had to get phones when we switched from T-Mobile to AT&T. We got Razrs free. Our last phones were ancient, so these new Razrs are something. I haven’t decided if all the newfangled junk they can do is worth it the contract or not.

  7. Abbadon says:

    I’m on my third Razr. I like it.

    I’ve been with Verizon for years. I have no complaints, really. Seriously.

    Third Razr because I abuse the hell out of them in construction, not necessarily because they aren’t a good phone.

  8. McGehee says:

    Third Razr because I abuse the hell out of them in construction, not necessarily because they aren’t a good phone.

    I did start to wonder… ;-)

  9. Tammie says:

    I agree AT&T does suck. I had cingular for 5 years so i decided to add my teenagers on the account. Well I received 1800.00 dollrs today for the first month. After 2 hours on the phone with customer service nothing was resolved. I went to the AT&T here and within a minute we discovered it was my sons phone and it was faulty. The phone stayed on multi-media everytime he texted so he got a new phone today. However trying to get credit for that is a whole different story. They did a case and I’ll know on May 19 how much of the 1800.00 i’ll have to pay. Even though it wasn’t our fault it was the phone. I HATE AT&T BECAUSE IT F%#@*^$ SUCKS.

  10. Prudie says:

    $1800?!!!!!!!?!!!! I would faint. And then I would call the BBB and file something or other with them if AT&T didn’t drop the charges. If the fault was the phone’s which was supplied to you by them, then you shouldn’t have to pay for it. Sheesh.

Comments are closed.