Cold Snap

Last week, I was wearing shorts. Today, I’m back in a sweat-shirt hoodie. Where has my lovely Spring weather gone?

I’ve got nine tomato plants sitting on my kitchen table, waiting to be planted. I’ve been craving tomato sandwiches for a good month already. And it’s going to be another month at least before mine will be ready to pick. Sigh.  There’s just something about a homegrown tomato.

It’s difficult to think anything but pleasant thoughts while eating a homegrown tomato. 

-Lewis Grizzard

Ain’t that the truth?

If you’ve only eaten the tomatoes sold in grocery stores, you’ve never had a good tomato. Grocery store tomatoes are bred for shipping ability, which means that they have a tough skin, watery innards, and little taste. There’s a world of difference in the taste, and it’s one I can’t exlain. It’s something you’ve got to experience.

I have a small garden, I call it my Victory Garden. It’s just three small four foot by four foot boxes of good soil I play in every year. Last year, I produced a ton of tomatoes and one sweet watermelon. Rabbits ate everything else I planted. We’ll see how I do this year. I’ve got some plans for an anti-rabbit fence to go around each box. I am somewhat skeptical about my ability to make the fence I have planned.

Later, Upon Further Consideration: I have a degree in civil engineering; I even worked as a structural engineer (briefly), for crying out loud. I should be able to make three anti-rabbit fences. Right? We’ll see.

One comment on “Cold Snap

  1. Abbadon says:

    Let me know if you need any hands-on experience.

    Oh, and I can help with the rabbit fences too!

    :o)>

Comments are closed.