Goodbye Absolut

A call for an invasion or just mindless pandering? I’m undecided.

11 comments on “Goodbye Absolut

  1. Abbadon says:

    I don’t drink booze but I can still piss on Mexico…

  2. Prudie says:

    I’m not fond of booze either (Kosher wine, though, I do enjoy occasionally). Still, if ever I find that I need vodka for something (like cooking) it won’t be Absolut.

  3. Abbadon says:

    It makes great flambes. We could flambe the whole borderline with it.

  4. Prudie says:

    Eh. Now I can’t buy Jim Beam either. And I actually DO buy Jim Bean fairly regularly (for hot toddies and cooking). I wasn’t upset so terribly about not being able to buy Absolut, but the Jim Bean tie-in pisses me off something fierce.

    Anyway, Fortune Brands is Jim Beam:

    STOCKHOLM, March 26 (Reuters) – U.S. firm Fortune Brands has teamed up with private equity group Nordic Capital in its bid to buy Absolut Vodka maker Vin & Sprit (VSG.UL: Quote, Profile , Research) from the Swedish state, a source with knowledge of the matter said on Wednesday

  5. Abbadon says:

    Buy Jack Daniels…

    It tastes better than bourbon anyway…

  6. Prudie says:

    Site admin stuff I messed up: [Edited my comment #4 above because I screwed up the link. Oy. Just added the quote and corrected misspeling… mispelling… (damn it) wrong freaking word. ]

  7. Adios says:

    Absolut adios to your brand!

  8. If this was done for pure sales and profit, it is extremely reckless. If it was done to pander to this false notion part of America belongs to Mexico, then it is immoral. Either way, they suffer via their lost of sales. Of course I don’t drink commi vodka, but 18 year old(or older) single malt Scotch, with no ice.

  9. Ben Keeler says:

    Deosnt make a whole lot of sense to me to upset the consumers who are gonna buy more of a product.

  10. Prudie says:

    I think that Absolut thought no one in the US would see it. That’s the only thing I can see to explain their absolutely idiotic ad.

  11. scottoncapecod says:

    Absolute Error… What the Motivational Poster will look like in the Absolut Boardroom

    http://scottoncapecod.wordpress.com/2008/04/04/absolut-marketing-disaster/

Comments are closed.