The Night That The Lights Went Out In Georgia

Well, they’re not. At least, not in this house in Georgia. Every light in the front of the house is blazing. And I’ve got both the TV and the computer on, something I rarely do.

The whole thing is ridiculous, and just like Greens, to make so much of such empty symbolism. It won’t be practised here. And I won’t pretend to go along with it to appease my liberal neighbors who are, just now, sitting in the dark.

Besides, let’s assume that the voluntary hour long blackout (the “Earth Hour”) does manage to provide some small reduction in energy consumption (snerk). What’s the next logical step for the Greens? Mandatory power outages perhaps? I think so, too.

Bah.

8 comments on “The Night That The Lights Went Out In Georgia

  1. I totally agree with you! People need to do a lot more than switch their lights off for an hour to beat climate change.

    I hope that you will continue thinking about the environment and do more to reduce your carbon footprint. One of the quickest and most effective ways to reduce your contribution to climate change is to stop eating meat and dairy products. Animal agriculture is responsible for 18% of all greenhouse gases, that’s more than all the world’s transport systems!

    A kilogram of beef is responsible for the equivalent amount of CO2 emitted by the average european car every 250 kilometres, and burns enough energy to light a 100-watt bulb for nearly 20 days.

    There are other advantages of a plant based diet too. You can improve your health, save grain and crops to feed to starving people instead of animals and, of course, there are huge benefits to animals.

    Give it a go!

    http://www.ethicaleating.org.uk

  2. Abbadon says:

    Oh look, trolls come in green, too.

  3. Guy S says:

    Sheesh! I wonder how many of these snake oil sycophants butts I could kick with my “Carbon footprinted boot”, before it would make any difference?

    If these backward third grade scientific method rejectors want to live in a cave somewhere eating nuts and berries, that’s fine. Just don’t expect those of us with more then five active brain cells working in unison to go along with your little make believe world. We have better things to do … in the light … with the heat on … and the radio/tv/computer running.

    Good on ya Prudence!!

  4. Prudie says:

    I just had steak. Rare. Yum. Vegetarians can have lots of health problems because of deficiencies from not eating meat. Don’t preach the “health benefits” of vegetarianism to me, bud.

    Abbadon, Are green trolls any more fun than the regular ones? I dunno. But they are more preachy in a kind of meanie Sunday school teacher crossed with an old spinster fifth grade math teacher kind of way.

    Guy S, I think it depends on your aim. They’re fast and slippery little trolls. And I don’t have the heat on… it’s Spring here in Georgia.

  5. Guy S says:

    I have heard rumors about something called “Spring”… my memory, foggy tho it is these days, seems to recall some vague recollection of same as well as a season called “construction”, but more temperate zones call Summer. I will believe it when I see it. *grin*

  6. Sorry for the late reply to your message. I just wanted to clarify that it is perfectly healthy to be vegetarian or vegan, in fact, being so significantly reduces your chances of getting heart disease and cancer. There is a particularly strong link between consumption of red meat and bowel cancer.

    Clearly your health is not important you, and climate change, world hunger and animal suffering are not high up on your agenda, in which case I understand why you continue to eat meat. Perhaps you are just one of the many who blindly go about their lives without regard for others, tucking in to a juicy steak while others eat dirt to stay alive…

  7. Prudie says:

    There is a strong link between the over consumption of red meat and bowel cancer. (I talked to my doctor about this when I first decided to go on the Warrior Diet.) Red meat itself isn’t the problem. It’s how much you eat.

    See? This is my problem with preachy vegetarians. You have one cause you highly champion (vegetarianism), which is fine with me. But then you have to go and try to link it to other causes (world hunger, climate change) to strengthen you initial cause.

    Which doesn’t work with me. Because I know that climate change is over-hyped and that world hunger has more to do with totalitarian regimes and corrupt politicians than any real shortage/pricing of food.

    So you bring up my health. What modern woman isn’t concerned about her health? (And by “health” you mean “weight.” That is, after all, the common nice way to reference fat people without out and out calling them “fat.”) But then, you don’t know me very well, or you wouldn’t bring up my weight. So you wouldn’t know that any argument you make concerning losing weight isn’t going fly with me. And you obviously don’t know that I am all about being healthy.

    So you try to shame me into vegetarianism. Because according to you I “blindly go about [my life] without regard for others.” Awww. I’m a selfish greedy consumer. Well, gee. Now my feelings are hurt.

    I can’t be shamed into doing something with which I don’t agree. So you try my mother’s guilt method for food by bringing up all the starving children in the world who are forced to eat dirt – only instead of trying to get me to eat all of my squash, you’re trying to get me to stop eating meat. It didn’t work for my mother and it certainly isn’t going to work for you.

    You know, I bet the starving children in Africa would also love a steak.

    Just because you’ve bought into the hype surrounding climate change doesn’t mean that I’m willing to drink that kool-aid, too. And just because I eat meat, don’t assume that I’m uninvolved in charity work.

    You’ve bought into a lifestyle with which I don’t agree. That’s fine. I wouldn’t have attacked your lifestyle without you first attacking mine. Don’t assume, because I don’t live like you, that I am unconcerned with health, environment, suffering, etc. That is the type of narcissistic, holier than thou, bullshit in which highly overly zealous religious people engage. But then, vegetarianism et al. is like a religion to you, isn’t it?

    You know, it really pisses me off when someone, like this troll Sophie (AKA ethicaleating), assumes that I live one way, when they clearly don’t read my blog. They base totally asinine assumptions upon one fact (like my meat eating habit) and use that as a springboard to accuse me off all sorts of nasty behavior.

    Eh, screw it. The troll is banned. Sorry Sophie. I’m too busy out gardening today to want to deal with your nonsense. Ever.

  8. Prudie says:

    Man, she really pushed my buttons, huh?

Comments are closed.