What’s Typical?

So, while flipping through the channels this morning, looking for something on that wouldn’t cause me to be pissed off for the rest of the day, I ran across Obama on Fox News. He was justifying throwing his granny under the bus while  justifying his involvement with Wright’s church.

Because I can’t find the video or a link to an article about the snip I caught on Fox while flipping this morning, I’ll paraphrase his justification: His point wasn’t that she was racist; His point was that she is a typical white person.

[I’ll get a link up to the actual quote as soon as I can find one.]

I’m unclear exactly what he meant. Did he mean that his granny was a typical white person in that she was racist? Because that’s what it sounded like to me. I question this only because there were a slue of white people clapping madly behind him when he said this. Surely, they wouldn’t clap so enthusiastically if he was calling them racist; would they?  

The only reason I’m not hopping mad is that I didn’t catch the entire interview. Like I said, I was flipping channels when I caught the tail end. So I could be mistaken about his meaning. But I don’t think so. I’ll find a link and post it here as soon as it becomes available.

LATER: OK. I found two links: One is from Philly.com and the other is from NRO. Obama’s exact words: The point I was making was not that my grandmother harbors any racial animosity, but that she is a typical white person.

I have two thoughts on this.

1) So white people aren’t typically racist, but they do go around using racial and ethnic slurs. Because that’s what he accused his grandmother of doing. Lovely. What a wonderful picture he has of the white half of his heritage. And what a wonderful view he has of, you know, most of the people in the US. Also, racial and ethnic slurs are racist. I thought that was the rule: if you use the n-word, you’re a racist. I thought that was understood by everybody. No? Have the rules changed now that Obama has to contrive an explanation for throwing his granny under the bus?

2) Racial and ethnic stereotyping is as racist as racial and ethnic slurs. Just because Obama’s stereotyping is aimed at a race that comprises the majority of Americans doesn’t make it any less wrong. You know, I thought that was a rule, too: you stereotype an entire race, then you’re a racist. Again, have the rules changed now for Obama?

5 comments on “What’s Typical?

  1. Abbadon says:

    I love being a typical white person…

  2. snwinchester says:

    just one more reason for me to not vote his way…

  3. Micheal says:

    The assocation with Rev. Wright, the “grandmother” incident, and the “typical white person” comment has ruined his chances for the independent voters. He has also shown that he is a race baiting radical, like so many in the Democrat party are.

  4. Prudie says:

    A typical white person? Hmmm… so you like outdoor performance clothes and bad memories of high school? Hey, me too!

Comments are closed.