Question Answered

About a year ago, I left the Mormon church. And with the Mormon church, I also left Christianity. Yes, after a lifetime of being that Mormon girl (not to mention about 5 generations of Mormon ancestry), I was left without a religious home. Since then, I’ve struggled with the question that many people who are similarly situated wrestle with when they reject a religious belief: Is there a God?

Well, I think there is a God, and his name is Ceiling Cat.  Srsly.

So let’s all pray:

Praise Ceiling Cat, who be watchin yu, may him has a cheezburger.

Wut yu want, yu gets, srsly.

In ceiling and on teh flor.

Giv us dis day our dalee cheezburger.

And furgiv us for makin yu a cookie, but eateding it.

An do not let us leed into teh showa, but deliver us from teh wawter.

Ceiling Cat pwns all. He pwns teh ceiling and teh floor and walls too.

Forevur and evuhr. Amen.

[Via Ace.]

19 comments on “Question Answered

  1. pajama momma says:

    Ah a Molly Mormon huh?
    My husband was a member of the LDS church back in the day. Was even born and raised in Utah.

    OMG! You two are like total twins! :)

  2. Prudie says:

    Snerk. I’ve never even been to Utah. And really, I was never all that much of a Molly. Which may ‘splain my recent religious changes.

    But yeah, other than that, totally twins. :)

  3. Prudie says:

    Oh, and AHA! I know now why you have so many kids! :)

  4. pajama momma says:

    I’m like old mother hubbard.

    Utah’s beautiful, but I had a really hard time making friends when I lived there.
    I was in a very conservative neighborhood. We were the only people out of about 20 homes that didn’t belong to the local ward and of course they knew this.

    I used to hang out at Walmart on Sundays just to meet people. :)

  5. Prudie says:

    What’s sad?

  6. pajama momma says:

    The fact that you’re going to “outer darkness”. Me? I’m going to hell.

  7. Prudie says:

    Eh, the outer darkness thing is soooo misunderstood by most Mormons (and non-Mormons, too). Widely known: In LDS belief, the only way to get outer darkness is to be a son of perdition. Completely misunderstood: You can only be a son of perdition if you are given the ENTIRE truth of the gospel, which means that you know everything. No one knows everything; that’s a basic Mormon belief. If you knew everything, you wouldn’t need to be here and would likely be promptly removed. (See Enoch for an example of this. Had Enoch turned away from God after God showed him everything, then he would have been a son of perdition and thus given outer darkness.) Anyway.

    I tease my mother that I now have a better chance of making it to the Celestial Kingdom than she does because I’ve left the church. (It is a widely held belief – because of revelation from a modern prophet, I think – that most people in the Celestial Kingdom after Judgement will not have been LDS on earth.) Now, I don’t believe that there is a Celestial Kingdom, but I do like to tease my mother about my better chance of obtaining it.

  8. pajama momma says:

    You have my hubby schooled when it comes to LDS knowledge.

    I think he listened to seminary the way he listens to me. Mmmmm, uh huh, oh.

  9. pajama momma says:

    You have my hubby schooled when it comes to LDS knowledge.

    I think he listened to seminary the way he listens to me. Mmmmm, uh huh, oh.

  10. pajama momma says:

    nice double post. I have no idea how that even happened because after I hit send I walked away from the computer. trip out. AND it says my comments are two minutes apart.

  11. Prudie says:

    My WordPress account is haunted. You’re lucky that your comment appeared in the right post. That doesn’t always happen when people comment on my site. And the weird thing is that I haven’t changed any CSS or nothin’. Spooky.

  12. coventryrm says:

    My exit from Mormonism was closer to 10 years ago, I think it took my almost five after that to become atheist/agnostic or I prefer Humanist.

    As far as the Son of Perdition issue, I guess that depends on whether you want to believe the more current leadership of the church that has pretty much openly admitted that they don’t really talk to God or Brigham Young according to Brigham just apostatizing from the Church constitutes the grounds of being a Son of Perdition, but wait you are a woman so can you even qualify anyway? I think maybe holding the Priesthood might be a prerequisite so you have no worries!

    Me I have been on a mission and through the temple been a temple worker so no chance for me. I don’t lose much sleep over it; it causes me about as much concern that if I am not good Santa won’t bring me gifts. (Bad example because my wife and santa are one in the same so that actually could have some cause and effect.)

    Glad you found your way out of Mormonism.

  13. Prudie says:

    I don’t see the LDS church as a bad thing. So I’m not sure why anyone should be glad I found my way out of it. I have a great deal of respect for Mormons. Frankly, I love Mormons. Most of my family remains active in the church, and I don’t bear them, or the church itself, ill will.

    I don’t think that being a temple worker or going on a mission qualifies you for son of perdition candidacy. (And yes, you can be female and be a son of perdition – it’s all about knowledge, not preisthood.) Going to the temple alone does not show you the entire truth of the LDS gospel, nor does serving on a mission. I know plenty of people who know little about the church, and they go to/work at the temple and have served on missions.

  14. coventryrm says:

    My son of perdition was said with much sarcasm based on what Brigham Young had to say in the J of D.

    I am glad you are following what you belief to be true there are many people who torture themselves throughout life and don’t have the courage to that.

    In the first few years after leaving the church I felt exactly the same as you in regards to my positive view of Mormonism and no ill will. In fact I continued to take and participate in Church activities with my children. However over time as I watched my extended family become more distant and uncomfortable around me this became harder to do. Hopefully those around you will not do the same as the LDS around me did over time. I found that when I was just viewed as inactive and that there was still hope I may come back to the fold I was treated quite differently, I think that at the same time the LDS people in my life started accepting that I was not coming back was the same time they started dismissing me as well.

    My post was not intended to be adversarial but one of support that you did a very hard thing and that is to have the courage to question and then follow and trust and travel down the path it takes you.

  15. […] Heart Mormons You know, all I had to do was mention that I am a former Mormon. Thus the Mormon bashingbegan. Oh, not so much in the comments of the post I linked, but in emails I received (all three of […]

  16. coventryrm says:

    Bashing is not my intent I have great discussions with LDS on different blogs and I think we treat each other for the most part with respect. If presenting information is bashing then I am guilty. I agree 100% with you that the majority of LDS are good people trying to live a good life and follow what they believe. I have a son on a mission and a daughter that was just recently married in the temple. Not to mention most of my entire extended family. They are all wonderful people that I love very much.

  17. Prudie says:

    “Glad you found your way out of Mormonism.”

    That sentiment is what the Mormon bashing sites often say when they find out that you’ve recently left the church. And it strikes me as a bit mean. Which is why I questioned the spirit of your entire first post. Also, you presented your Mormon “cred” (working in a temple/missionary work) which is also a popular anti-LDS tactic.

    “My post was not intended to be adversarial but one of support that you did a very hard thing and that is to have the courage to question and then follow and trust and travel down the path it takes you.”

    OK. Thanks. Like I said above, congratulating me on leaving the church colored the remainder of your first comment. So I misunderstood your purpose in commenting. I thought you were being that typical “LDS = bad” former Mormon I was talking about in my last post about loving Mormons.

    Presenting information isn’t bashing as long as it’s honest and a true representation of what Mormons believe. That is often not the case with former Mormons.

    I’m sorry that you’re not as close to some of the LDS people in your life as you used to be. That’s tough. I think that’s not something that is particular to the LDS church, though. When I’ve left jobs, I’ve become less and less close to some of the friends I made at those former jobs. Same thing with living in a different city. I think it has more to do with proximity and similar interests than a deliberate shunning.

    “I am glad you are following what you belief to be true there are many people who torture themselves throughout life and don’t have the courage to that.”

    I did it most of my adult life. (I’m 32 and left the church about a year ago… after having serious unanswered questions since I was a teenager.) And yeah, it is difficult to belong to something and not believe in most of what goes on in it.

    Anyway, we’re good now.

  18. Prudie says:

    OH, and how crazy is it that we’re having this somewhat serious discussion in the comment section of a post about CEILING CAT?

    Gotta luv this internet thingie.

    ………….

    Also, I got three emails from other former Mormons saying pretty much what you said in your first comment. Only, they weren’t nearly as nice in the OTHER stuff they said. It was pretty typical hateful untrue anti-Mormon stuff that drives me crazy. Argh.

Comments are closed.