Upon the Benefits of Meditation

Ohmmmmmmmmmm.

I am calm. Really. I am super calm. Despite F’n Florida (as it will ever be called if McCain wins the Republican nomination), I am calm.

Which is hard really. I hate McCain. No. I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate McCain. Why? Well, there’s so much. And since just thinking of a President McCain makes my blood boil, I’ll not list his many grievances. My current calm was hard won. Suffice it to say, I do not agree with the man’s political positions or his temperament. 

Oh, I am tempted to take the path of a few of Ace’s commenters (specifically MTT, comment #4) and vote for Hillary or Obama in the general election just to see the place burn. (And by “the place,” I mean, “the United States.”) Bonfires are nice. And since the people seem to be lining up to leap into the blaze, maybe I should accommodate them. I could make a mint selling big puffy marshmallows and sharp sticks.  But then, I wouldn’t have much to show for it since my bonfire earnings would probably be taxed to death.

So I take a deep breath. And I center my chakras or whatever the hell it is that meditation is supposed to do for my mental well-being.  It sorta works.

Apparently, I am witnessing the final gasping breaths of fiscal conservatism. That makes me sad more than angry. Where are fiscal conservatives supposed to go from here? Physically, there really isn’t anywhere else. The US is the last place on Earth that houses a (reasonably) free citizenry. There is no where else to go. This is it. And we’re screwing it up.

Is there a political party that could help? To what political party should fiscal conservatives belong? What about the Republican Party? I haven’t been a member since the early 1990’s because of their social conservatism. But the GOP was usually able to be relied upon for fiscal conservatism. No longer, it seems. And the Libertarian Party is too complicated and encumbered by the crazy portion of their membership rolls to contribute significantly to political processes. And the Democrats/Greens have never been fiscal conservatives.

You know, I wasn’t joking about needing a new political party. The problem is that I don’t think that there are enough people left who support fiscal conservatism to make a difference in the political process.

Am I being overly dramatic here? I feel like the sky is falling.

UPDATE: I am not alone. Nice.

UPDATE 2/1/08 3:50PM: Thomas Sowell isn’t impressed by the “straight talk” and Doug Ross made a nice little candidate comparison chart.

