The Mouse That Roared

Kevin over at The Smallest Minority has reviewed Why We Fight, a documentary about the Iraqi war. It’s lengthy, but it’s a good read if you can carve out a few minutes.

 One thing struck me in Kevin’s post:

The Imperial Roman motto was “Veni, vidi, vici” – “I came, I saw, I conquered.” The American version seems to be more along the lines of “We came, we kicked ass, and then we hauled out the checkbook.”

In the 1959 comedy, The Mouse That Roared, the tiny, poor, pre-industrial country of Grand Fenwick declares war on and “invades” the US in hopes that the US will invade Grand Fenwick in return, then pay for the country’s reconstruction efforts.

No, I have nothing relevant to add to Kevin’s post. I just thought of that silly, half-assed British comedy when I was reading.

