Cirque d’OJ

I don’t understand the fascination some people have for OJ Simpson. Many people think he got away with murder and many are angry over it. And they see this new legal trouble as some kind of karma, some kind of belated justice for the dead. I have a problem with that. OJ was tried in court years ago; he was found legally innocent.

That’s they way our legal system works: Sometimes the guilty are acquitted and sometimes the innocent are punished. It’s the inherent flaw in our jury system. Innocence and guilt are determined by a committee who may or may not get it right.

I think they get it right more often than not. Perhaps that’s merely optimism on my part. Or maybe it’s just desperate, unsubstantiated belief because there really is no other alternative. Whichever, OJ was acquitted. He deserves to be tried for these new crimes on their own merit without the ghosts of his past trial hovering.

Oh, I don’t know if OJ is a killer. I think it’s likely. Does it bother me? I don’t know. It does a little I suppose. I like to see justice delivered; I like to think our judicial system works, especially in such high profile cases. But sometimes it doesn’t; and I’m realistic enough to realize that 1) mistakes are often made and 2) there’s nothing to do but accept it and move on.

