Information State

Can we trust anything in the news? Newspapers have the fact-checking ability of any local small-town gossip-monger intent on spreading a story, but less concerned with the truth of the gossip itself. News channels have agendas, thinly hidden behind a pretense of “journalism.” And they’re little better than newspapers at fact-checking. [Somewhat off topic, the most interesting parts of news broadcasts are the stories they don’t cover.]

From all of this, my impression of journalists isn’t a good one. They seem to be little more than inaccurate, political shills in a perpetual cold war with anyone having views other than their own. How can I trust that? How am I to differentiate between their political grenades launched at opponents and their accurate representation of fact? I can’t. It’s frustrating. I want information – reliable, unbiased, non-“narrative” information – from the media.

But no. What I’m getting is a story, a narrative that is merely slanted if I’m lucky. On less lucky days, I get misinformation, missing information, false information, second-hand information, slanted information, and ambiguous information that is, at the very least, too dubious to take seriously. I can only conclude that they’ve lied to me. Deliberately. And I’m sick of it.

And I haven’t even mentioned the fake information that serves as news for some.

-Prudie

